Christian Living

Anxiety

wp-1467262087989.jpgWhen I wrote my post on Christians and depression I received an alarming response that was overflowing with transparency. It was amazing to see people talk about a topic that is not talked about enough in the Christian community (IMHO). However, I noticed that along with depression the topic of anxiety came up quite a bit. In fact, many people admitted (either on the blog, on Facebook, or in person) that they were currently seeking counsel or on medication for both depression and anxiety. Some were just on medication for anxiety alone. Interestingly enough, they were all Christian friends.

Does depression bring anxiety? Or is it the other way around?

As you’ve probably read in my last post about depression, I was very transparent about my struggle with depression. However I didn’t expound on anxiety…and I have to admit that I’ve struggled with that as well. There have been nights that I have lacked sleep because of my anxiety and worry. I would feel completely overwhelmed, and stressed.

For me, anxiety is a state of restlessness, worry, second-guessing, high alert, and fear. I have experienced all of these symptoms at some point or another. Anxiety (just like depression) can impact your physical and mental health.

I am a human and I have worried, consequently that worry produced anxiety. Some may argue that some worry, or a sleepless night or two are “normal”.

In fact, who hasn’t worried at some point?!

However, what does the Bible say about anxiety?

wp-1467289736438.jpg

 

wp-1467290138389.jpgI have read this passage over and over again, I’ve even used this scripture in my prayers. I love that peace can pass my own understanding. However I’ve never read it in the Amplified Version and when I found it I nearly fell off my chair! It says to make your specific requests known to God. It also says that peace will {not only} transcend my understanding but will STAND GUARD over my heart and mind! Ahhhhhh, folks I am so excited about this! I know I’ve read this a thousand times {in the KJV}, but it really spoke to me today.

This post is not about whether a Christian can experience depression or anxiety. We’ve established that they can. This post is about being transparent, telling our testimony, and learning how to overcome, so that we can teach others.

wp-1467291566189.jpgHave you experienced anxiety?

 

4 thoughts on “Anxiety

  1. Anxiety… How I loath thee. Man, I am really bad when it comes to my kids. Have I raised them right? Are they happy? Will they have friends at school? Will they be safe… And on and on. Let me tell you, I used to have the most horrific nightmares about my kids…especially before I traveled with Caleb by myself. The last time I flew home to BC with him by myself, I was so worked up I almost cancelled my trip. His first full day of Grade one, I drove by the school at recess to make sure he wasn’t sitting by himself, I wanted him to have friends. It always seems to irrational to get so worked up about this stuff… But I did. I’m getting better. Like you said God didn’t wire us this way… And sometimes I feel bad for being on meds for help, but I know without them, I’m a wreck (I’ve recently tried to come off them, didn’t work) I pray about my fears more. I pray about my concerns for my family… And I have so much comfort from that. I’m sure none of this makes sense… I’m tired, it’s been a very stressful week… But it’s definitely something that needs to be talked about. I don’t know why mental health is such a taboo topic…especially among Christians… Maybe if people talked about it more we could know how to pray for each other better.
    I love that you are open about it. I shared about it once and haven’t again, but there are times I really want to. Have a great weekend… Happy Canada Day tomorrow!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Happy Canada Day to you!!! One of my favorite holidays. I think people should talk about it more! You are right. This post is not about whether you are on medication or not, it’s about the fact that you may or may not have anxiety and how to overcome. I didn’t want to get in any sort of debate about medication, but I was alarmed the several people that said that they deal with both depression and anxiety. Do they work together? Hmmmm….I should do a study or something lol. As always, thanks for responding, you’re awesome.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment